This year we are very excited to introduce our “New Generation programme”, where we are privileged to be joined by some of the best science students at schools in KwaZulu-Natal as well as top-performing students from the University of Zululand.

The programme is a joint initiative between the KZN Sharks Board, and the South African Institute for Aquatic Biodiversity (SAIAB) aimed at introducing the “next generation” of scientists into the field of shark and ray research.

The KZNSB is committed to encouraging the “next generation” of learners to explore a career in the marine sciences. With the guidance of Ms. Busi Ngcobo, a KZNSB board member, we have identified 5 of the best up and upcoming science students at local schools in KwaZulu-Natal. Through the immersive experience of attending a prestigious scientific conference and meeting some of Southern Africa’s top marine shark and ray scientists we hope that many of these learners will go on to become leading marine researchers in their own rights. The KZNSB is privileged to sponsor the attendance of 5 students from the following schools.

Mqhawe Secondary School: Mr. Kwanele Ndaba

Ohlange High School: Ms. Thokoza Cibane

Magqibagqiba Secondary School: Mr. Mfundo Cele

Makhapha High School: Ms. Yamkela Luthuli

Sulema Patel Secondary School: Mr. Sbahle Shoba

The South African Institute for Aquatic Biodiversity has for the last decade successfully run its Phuhlisa Programme, which is a strategic Department of Science and Technology (DST) transformation initiative focused on building capacity in the Marine Sciences. The programme is focused on Historically Black Universities with the goal of accelerating transformation of the marine science research community.  This strong strategic initiative ensures that black and female South African postgraduates are trained within the marine sector and that marine science is entrenched more deeply at Historically Black Universities. As part of this initiative SAIAB has funded the attendance of the following three MSc students from the University of Zululand

Mthokozisi Blessings Xulu
Sibusiso Cyril Mkhabela
S’khumbuzo Lungisani Ndwandwe